top of page
< Back

250 Queen Street

August 14, 2026

Jonathan Van Bilsen

250 Queen Street

Serving the community for more than 140 years

The handsome brick building that stands on 250 Queen Street, in Port Perry, owes its beginnings to one of the town’s earliest residents. In 1859, William Tate purchased the lot and built a modest home, establishing what would become the site of one of the town's longest-serving veterinary practices. Although Tate's ownership was relatively brief, his decision to develop the property laid the foundation for a story that would span more than a century, and involve generations of Scugog residents.


The property entered a new chapter when it was purchased by Dr. Orr Graham, a young veterinarian whose roots were firmly planted in Reach Township near Saintfield. After attending the local village school, Graham continued his education at Port Perry High School, before enrolling at the Toronto Veterinary College. Graduating in 1884, he returned home eager to establish his practice, and chose this property as both his residence and place of business.


His plans were almost derailed before they had properly begun. Only months after opening his practice, the original house was destroyed by fire. Rather than abandon the site, Dr. Graham rebuilt. In 1885, he constructed the impressive red-brick residence that still attracts attention today. More than simply a family home, it reflected his determination to provide a permanent base for his profession.


Behind the house, Dr. Graham erected a stable and animal surgery, where horses, cattle, and other large animals could be housed while under his care. In an era when horses powered farms and transportation, the local veterinarian was an essential figure. Long before modern veterinary clinics and mobile diagnostic equipment, Graham travelled rough concession roads in every season, to care for the livestock upon which local families depended.


After twenty-five years of service, Dr. Graham retired in 1909 and relocated to Winnipeg. He sold both his home and veterinary practice to Dr. John T. Elliot, who arrived from Detroit to continue caring for the area's animals. The following year, the practice passed to Dr. Coates, ensuring the property remained an important centre of veterinary care for the growing community.


As the decades passed, the house entered a new phase of its history. Ownership changed several times, with each occupant adding another layer to its story. Beginning in 1957, Dr. Stephen Kandel called the house home for seventeen years. In 1974, accountant and later, Member of Parliament, Alex Shepherd, purchased the property and established the offices of Shepherd and Powell, giving the historic residence yet another role in serving the people of Scugog.


Following the death of Mr. Powell in 2010, the building was acquired by Frank and Michael Konopaski, who continued its tradition of professional service through Scugog Financial and Scugog Accounting Professional Corporation. Nine years later, the property was sold to the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation (MSIFN). It became home to several professional services and businesses.


Today the building is owned by Marwan Dib, and is home to Focus magazine, the North Durham Chamber of Commerce and several private offices. Although horses no longer wait patiently in the stable behind the house, the building remains what it has always been: a place where dedicated professionals have quietly served the community for well over 140 years.

Subscribe and stay on top of our latest news and promotions

Thanks for submitting!

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

© 2023 by Jonathan van Bilsen's PhotosnTravel. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page